Paths

The Bastille is at the southern end of the Chartreuse mountain range. It overlooks the north of the city of Grenoble and the Grenoble “Y” formed by three valleys: to the south, the Gresse and Drac valley, to the north-east, the Grésivaudan valley and to the north-west, the Grenoble-Voreppe gorge. This confluence of valleys is framed by three massifs: the pre-Alpine Chartreuse, Vercors ranges and the Alpine Belledonne range.

There are various ways of reaching the Bastille site:
The most-used method is the cable car. This provides access to the heart of the fort in just a few minutes and attracts tourists in particular. It is open all year and until late in the evening during the summer.

The site is also accessible by car. Only one road leads to the top of the Bastille. It starts after the Town Hall in the township of La Tronche. Visitors do not generally favour this route, due to the narrow, dangerous road. There is free parking for 50 vehicles on the glacis slope behind the fort.

The last way to access the site is on foot! This way is mostly used by residents of the Grenoble area. The Bastille hill has several paths on it connecting the right bank of the river Isère to the top of the fort and to the university buildings further down the hill.

  • From a family walk taking under an hour to a strenuous four-hour hike, the Bastille’s waymarked paths are open to all tastes and every ability.

    Paths towards the city

    • The Saint-Laurent side of the Bastille

    Allow 30 to 45 minutes to walk down and 45 minutes to 1 hour 15 minutes to walk up. Height difference: 300 m – paths and stairs.
    From the fort, descend east following the signage to “Porte Saint-Laurent”. This route is not only a cultural stroll around the fortifications, but is also an invitation to get into better shape with its fitness trail. You can use it to access the Musée Dauphinois, the Saint-Laurent archaeological site, the CCSTI Grenoble Scientific, Technological and Industrial Culture Centre or the Museum of Grenoble by crossing the river Isère. More seasoned hikers could take the great staircase, the escalier des géants (giants’ staircase)along the fort’s eastern moat

    • Bastille Porte de France side

    Allow 20 to 40 minutes to walk down and 40 minutes to 1 hour to walk up. Height difference: 300 m – paths and stairs.
    From the upper cable car station, walk to the main square and follow the stairs west in the direction of “Porte de France” to find bunkers and firing positions. Follow the route of the Via Ferrata to walk to parc Guy Pape (Guy Pape Park)and then to Jardin des Dauphins (Dauphins’ Park), which has outdoor play equipment for children. This shaded path takes you through a natural plant mosaic providing homes to birds, insects, rodents, butterflies and various birds of prey.

    • Promenade de la Poudrière (Powder Magazine Walk)

    30 minute circular walk with a 50 m height difference or 1 hour to the bottom with 230 m height difference – paths and stairs.
    From the fort’s main square (place Tournadre), follow the path and go down to the right, facing the Vercors mountains to explore bunkers, firing emplacements and, in the distance, a watchtower. Follow the wall with its sawtooth outworks. Look down through the trees to catch a glimpse of the citadelle Rabot (Rabot Citadel). You will then have a choice. You can go left to take the path that runs alongside the powder magazine and takes you back to your starting point, or you can carry on along the path that takes you down on the Saint-Laurent side.

    • From the cavalier to the Mandrin Caves

    30 mins. approx., height difference of 30 m, approx., paths and stairs.
    Climb the stairs next to the souvenir shop to arrive at the fortified cavalier that housed the cannons aimed towards the Chartreuse. Go back down to the main square and then leave it using the fort’s gate, formerly a drawbridge. Follow the profile of the cavalier and climb the metal stairs to your right, leading into the moat. Leave the moat and walk along the defensive slope, the “glacis”, along the road to head towards the “Mandrin” caves using the walkway. According to legend, the famous Dauphinois brigand hid his treasure there, even though he was executed more than a century before their construction!

    Go down the impressive underground staircase with its over 260 steps and follow the path that will take you back to the entrance to the fort.

    • Mont Jalla, National Memorial to French Mountain Troops

    30 mins. 140 m height difference – path.
    Located on the promontory of Mont Jalla (Mount Jalla) at an altitude of 634 m and accessible by long-distance walking route GR9, the memorial site offers spectacular views of a panorama extending from the foothills of the Chartreuse in the north-east to the Voreppe gorge in the north-west and taking in Mont Blanc, Belledonne, L’Oisans, le Trièves and the Vercors.

    Paths towards the Chartreuse

    • Bastille, regional natural park side

    2 to 4 hours and up to several days!
    You are at the southern gateway to the Chartreuse Natural Park and it is possible to set off from here on longer walks towards Saint-Martin-le-Vinoux, la Tronche, Mont Rachais, and more. Long-distance path GR9 offers the opportunity to go deep into the Chartreuse Park on multi-day hikes.


  • Download the map of the Bastille’s paths.

    ⚠ The Jardin des Dauphins gate shuts at 20.00 (01/04 to 15/09) and 18.00 (16/09 to 31/03).

Bastille Fort door closing times.

Following several break-ins and acts of vandalism at night, the Fort door will be locked shut during the evening, including for pedestrian access.

January – February – November – Decembrer

MON. TUE. WED. THU. FRI. SAT. SUN.
8.00 8.00 8.00 8.00 8.00 8.00 8.00
20.00 20.00 20.00 20.00 23.45 23.45 20.00

March

MON. TUE. WED. THU. FRI. SAT. SUN.
8.00 8.00 8.00 8.00 8.00 8.00 8.00
21.00 21.00 21.00 23.45 23.45 23.45 21.00

April – September – October

MON. TUE. WED. THU. FRI. SAT. SUN.
8.00 8.00 8.00 8.00 8.00 8.00 8.00
21.00 21.00 23.45 23.45 23;45 23.45 21.00

May – June

MON. TUE. WED. THU. FRI. SAT. SUN.
8.00 8.00 8.00 8.00 8.00 8.00 8.00
21.00 19.25 23.45 23.45 23.45 23.45 21.00

July – August

MON. TUE. WED. THU. FRI. SAT. SUN.
8.00 8.00 8.00 8.00 8.00 8.00 8.00
23.45 23.45 23.45 23.45 23.45 23.45 19.25
Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Les sentiers

La Bastille se situe à l’extrémité méridionale du massif de la Chartreuse. Elle surplombe le nord de la ville de Grenoble et l’ « Y grenoblois dont les trois branches sont formées : au sud par la vallée de la Gresse et du Drac, au nord-est par la vallée du Grésivaudan et enfin au nord-ouest par la cluse de Grenoble-Voreppe. Ce confluent de vallées est encadré par trois massifs : la Chartreuse et le Vercors qui sont des massifs préalpins, et le massif alpin de la chaîne de Belledonne.

L’accès au site de la Bastille peut se faire de différentes façons :
La méthode la plus répandue est l’utilisation du Téléphérique. Il permet d’accéder au cœur du fort en quelques minutes et attire plus particulièrement les touristes. Il est ouvert toute l’année et jusque tard le soir durant la période estivale.

Le site est également accessible en voiture. Une seule route permet de monter au sommet de la Bastille, son départ se situe après la Mairie de la commune de La Tronche. En général, les visiteurs ne privilégient pas ce moyen de transport en raison de l’étroitesse et de la dangerosité de la route. Un parking gratuit sur le glacis permet le stationnement d’une cinquantaine de véhicules.

Le dernier moyen d’accéder au site est la marche ! Plus utilisée par les habitants de l’agglomération grenobloise. La colline de la Bastille comprend plusieurs sentiers reliant la rive droite de l’Isère soit au sommet du fort, soit aux bâtiments universitaires situés plus en aval sur la colline.

  • De la balade en famille de moins d’1h00 à la randonnée sportive de plus 4h00, les sentiers balisés de la Bastille sont ouverts à toutes les envies et à toutes les capacités.

    Les sentiers vers la ville

    • La Bastille côté Saint-Laurent

    Entre 30 et 45 mn à la descente de 45 mn à 1h15 à la montée – dénivelé 300m – chemins et escaliers.
    Depuis le fort, descendez vers l’est en suivant la direction « Porte Saint-Laurent ». Ce sentier est tout autant une invitation à la remise en forme, par le parcours santé, qu’une balade culturelle autour du système défensif. Vous pourrez accéder soit au Musée dauphinois, au site archéologique Saint-Laurent, au CCSTI ou au Musée de Grenoble en traversant l’Isère. Les plus aguerris peuvent emprunter le grand escalier longeant le fossé Est de la fortification, dit « escalier des géants ».

    • La Bastille côté Porte de France

    Entre 20 et 40 mn à la descente, de 40 mn à 1h à la montée – dénivelé 300m – chemins et escaliers.
    De la gare supérieure du téléphérique, rejoignez la place principale et suivez les escaliers direction « Porte de France » vers l’ouest pour découvrir casemates et banquettes de tir. En longeant la Via ferrata, vous accédez au parc Guy Pape puis au Jardin des Dauphins équipé de jeux de plein air pour les enfants. Ce chemin ombragé traverse une mosaïque végétale abritant oiseaux, insectes, rongeurs, papillons et différents rapaces.

    • Promenade de la Poudrière

    30 mn la boucle avec 50 m de dénivelé ou 1 h jusqu’en bas avec 230 m de dénivelé – chemins et escaliers.
    De la place principale du fort (place Tournadre), suivez le sentier et descendez vers la droite, face au Vercors pour découvrir casemates, banquettes de tir et, au loin, une échauguette. Longez le mur à redents horizontal. Vous apercevez en contrebas, entre les arbres, la citadelle Rabot. Vous pouvez ensuite soit prendre sur la gauche le chemin qui longe la poudrière et vous ramène au point de départ ; soit continuer par le sentier qui vous descend côté Saint-Laurent.

    • Du cavalier aux grottes de Mandrin

    30 mn, environ 30 m de dénivelé chemins et escaliers.
    Montez l’escalier adossé à la boutique de souvenirs pour découvrir l’arrière du cavalier casematé qui abritait les canons dirigés vers la Chartreuse. Redescendez jusqu’à la place principale puis sortez par la porte du fort, ancien pont-levis. Longez le profil du cavalier et montez l’escalier métallique à votre droite menant à l’intérieur du fossé. Ressortez du fossé, longez ensuite le glacis par la route pour vous diriger vers les Grottes dites « de Mandrin » par la passerelle. Selon la légende, le célèbre brigand dauphinois y aurait caché son trésor, or il a été exécuté plus d’un siècle avant leur construction !

    Descendez l’impressionnant escalier souterrain de plus de 260 marches et le chemin défilé qui vous reconduiront à la porte du fort.

    • Le Mont Jalla, Mémorial national des troupes de montagnes

    30 mn, dénivelé 140 mètres – chemin.
    Situé sur le promontoire du Mont Jalla à 634m d’altitude, accessible par le GR9, vous apprécierez le panorama exceptionnel depuis les contreforts de la Chartreuse au Nord Est, jusqu’à la cluse de Voreppe au Nord-Ouest en passant par le Mont Blanc, Belledonne, l’Oisans, le Triève et le Vercors.

    Les sentiers vers la Chartreuse

    • La Bastille côté Parc naturel régional

    De 2 à 4h et jusqu’à plusieurs jours !
    Vous êtes à la porte méridionale du Parc Naturel de la Chartreuse et pouvez partir pour de plus longues randonnées vers Saint-Martin-le-Vinoux, la Tronche ou le Mont Rachais… En suivant le chemin de grande randonnée le GR9, vous allez pouvoir découvrir le parc de Chartreuse en randonnant pendant plusieurs jours…


  • Télécharger la carte des sentiers de la Bastille.

    ⚠ La porte du jardin des Dauphins ferme à 20h (Du 01/04 au 15/09) et à 18h (Du 16/09 au 31/03)

Horaires de fermeture de la porte du Fort de la Bastille.

Suite à de nombreux cambriolages et dégradations survenus de nuit, la porte du fort sera fermée le soir, y compris l’accès piétons.

Janvier – Février – Novembre – Décembre

LUN. MAR. MER. JEU. VEN. SAM. DIM.
8h00 8h00 8h00 8h00 8h00 8h00 8h00
20h00 20h00 20h00 20h00 23h45 23h45 20h00

Mars

LUN. MAR. MER. JEU. VEN. SAM. DIM.
8h00 8h00 8h00 8h00 8h00 8h00 8h00
21h00 21h00 21h00 23h45 23h45 23h45 21h00

Avril – Septembre – Otobre

LUN. MAR. MER. JEU. VEN. SAM. DIM.
8h00 8h00 8h00 8h00 8h00 8h00 8h00
21h00 21h00 23h45 23h45 23h45 23h45 21h00

Mai – Juin

LUN. MAR. MER. JEU. VEN. SAM. DIM.
8h00 8h00 8h00 8h00 8h00 8h00 8h00
21h00 19h25 23h45 23h45 23h45 23h45 21h00

Juillet – Août

LUN. MAR. MER. JEU. VEN. SAM. DIM.
8h00 8h00 8h00 8h00 8h00 8h00 8h00
23h45 23h45 23h45 23h45 23h45 23h45 19h25
Print Friendly, PDF & Email